ARICEA Membership

E-mail Print PDF

About Membership
The membership is open for all ICT regulators in the COMESA region.

Benefits & Obligations
ARICEA create a forum for carrying out studies, discussing the outcomes of activities and create enabling ICT environment at both national and regional levels to stimulate investment to develop ICT sector.

The obligations are each member should pay their annual contributions, participate in the meetings and activities, and implement the general meeting decisions.

Regulator Members
The Regulators in the sub-region are eligible to become Regulatory Authority Members of the Association. A Regulator who wants to be Member may become a Member upon the approval of its application by a General Meeting. An application for membership shall be made in writing and submitted to the Secretariat

Ministry Members
A Ministry in a Member State where there is no Regulator in an ICT sub-sector. A Ministry Member shall enjoy the same rights and privileges and be subject to the same obligations as a Regulatory Authority Member except the right to be elected to the Executive Committee.

Associate Members
The Association may upon application and approval by a General Meeting grant associate membership to any organisation or to the members of any association with similar objectives. An Associate Member shall be entitled to participate in the activities of the Association but shall not be entitled to vote or be elected to the Executive Committee.

Application Process
An application for membership shall be made in writing and submitted to the Secretariat. The institution become a Member upon the approval of the general meeting.

Current Members are:-

  • Agence de Regulation et de Controle des Telecommunications (ARCT)-Burundi,
  • Autorite de Regulation de la post et des Telecommunications du Congo, (ARPTC),
  • National Telecommunications Regulatory Authority (NTRA) of Egypt, Ethiopian Broadcasting Authority (EBA),
  • Communication Commission of Kenya (CCK),  
  • Malawi Communication Regulatory Authority (MACRA),
  • Information Communication Technology Authority (ICTA) of Mauritius,
  • Rwanda Utilities Regulatory Agency, (RURA),
  • National Telecommunications Corporation (NTC) of Sudan, Uganda Communication Commission (UCC),
  • Zambia Information and Communications Technology Authority (ZICTA),
  • Broadcasting Authority of Zimbabwe and Postal and Telecommunications Regulatory Authority of Zimbabwe (POTRAZ).